TJR jujutsu syllabus


The TJR syllabus consists of nine student grades and four master grades. The gradings are as follows:

  • 9th kyu (yellow and white belt)
  • 8th kyu (yellow belt)
  • 7th kyu (blue and white belt)
  • 6th kyu (blue belt)
  • 5th kyu (green and white belt)
  • 4th kyu (green belt)
  • 3rd kyu (orange belt)
  • 2nd kyu (purple belt)
  • 1st kyu (brown belt)
  • 1st dan (black belt)
  • 2nd dan (black belt)
  • 3rd dan (black belt)
  • 4th dan (black belt)

There is no time limit between grades.  Students do gradings when they think they are ready.

Each grade has at least two parts.  The two parts are "demonstration" and "reflex".Senior grades (second kyu and beyond) have more than two parts.

Weapon sections appear in gradings from second kyu onwards.  It starts with the basics of baton (tanbo).

The practice of weapons can commence at any stage.  After fifth kyu, students can commence grading weapon sections of higher grades.  So, for instance, any time after grading fifth kyu, a student can grade the third section (baton) of second kyu.

The syllabus is designed from a multifaceted set of goals and principles.  One aspect in the early grades is the primacy given to the implementation in each grade of the use of one set up and one principal strategy of movement.